Michael van Gerwen and Gary Anderson to face off on opening night of the 2017 Premier League

By Darts Weekly Staff
16 JANUARY 2017 • 11:12PM

Michael van Gerwen and Gary Anderson will clash on the opening night of the 2017 Betway Premier League season at Newcastle’s Metro Radio Arena on February 2.

The opening nine weeks’ fixtures for the 10-player tournament which begins its four-month tour of the UK, Ireland and the Netherlands next month, were announced earlier today.

The new season will begin in Newcastle on Thursday, February 2, with the opening night featuring the rematch of the recent PDC World Championship final between van Gerwen and Anderson, which the Dutchman won 7-3 to claim his second world title.

Former world champions Raymond van Barneveld and Adrian Lewis also meet at the Metro Radio Arena, with 2009 Premier League winner James Wade meeting Kim Huybrechts on the Belgian’s return to the event.

Jelle Klaasen opens up his first Premier League campaign since 2009 against world number three Peter Wright, and 16-time world champion Phil Taylor plays Dave Chisnall.

Following Judgement Night in Cardiff on March 30, the bottom two players in the table will be relegated from the tournament.

The fixtures for the remaining league nights will be confirmed following Judgement Night as the remaining players then jostle for play-off places.

2017 Betway Premier League
Night One – Thursday February 2
Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle
Kim Huybrechts v James Wade
Raymond van Barneveld v Adrian Lewis
Phil Taylor v Dave Chisnall
Gary Anderson v Michael van Gerwen
Peter Wright v Jelle Klaasen

Night Two – Thursday February 9
Motorpoint Arena, Nottingham
Adrian Lewis v Dave Chisnall
James Wade v Phil Taylor
Jelle Klaasen v Gary Anderson
Peter Wright v Michael van Gerwen
Kim Huybrechts v Raymond van Barneveld

Night Three – Thursday February 16
First Direct Arena, Leeds
Gary Anderson v Peter Wright
Adrian Lewis v James Wade
Phil Taylor v Raymond van Barneveld
Michael van Gerwen v Jelle Klaasen
Dave Chisnall v Kim Huybrechts

Night Four – Thursday February 23
The Brighton Centre
Dave Chisnall v Jelle Klaasen
Michael van Gerwen v Adrian Lewis
Gary Anderson v James Wade
Phil Taylor v Kim Huybrechts
Raymond van Barneveld v Peter Wright

Night Five – Thursday March 2
Westpoint Arena, Exeter
Dave Chisnall v Raymond van Barneveld
Jelle Klaasen v Kim Huybrechts
Gary Anderson v Phil Taylor
Michael van Gerwen v James Wade
Adrian Lewis v Peter Wright

Night Six – Thursday March 9
The SSE Hydro, Glasgow
Adrian Lewis v Phil Taylor
James Wade v Peter Wright
Kim Huybrechts v Michael van Gerwen
Jelle Klaasen v Raymond van Barneveld
Dave Chisnall v Gary Anderson

Night Seven – Thursday March 16
Rotterdam Ahoy
James Wade v Jelle Klaasen
Peter Wright v Dave Chisnall
Raymond van Barneveld v Gary Anderson
Phil Taylor v Michael van Gerwen
Kim Huybrechts v Adrian Lewis

Night Eight – Thursday March 23
The Manchester Arena
Kim Huybrechts v Gary Anderson
James Wade v Dave Chisnall
Peter Wright v Phil Taylor
Jelle Klaasen v Adrian Lewis
Raymond van Barneveld v Michael van Gerwen

Judgement Night – Thursday March 30
Motorpoint Arena, Cardiff
Raymond van Barneveld v James Wade
Phil Taylor v Jelle Klaasen
Gary Anderson v Adrian Lewis
Michael van Gerwen v Dave Chisnall
Peter Wright v Kim Huybrechts

Night 10 – Thursday April 6
3Arena, Dublin

Night 11 – Thursday April 13
Echo Arena, Liverpool

Night 12 – Thursday April 20
The SSE Arena, Belfast

Night 13 – Thursday April 27
Barclaycard Arena, Birmingham

Night 14 – Thursday May 4
The Sheffield Arena

Night 15 – Thursday May 11
GE Oil & Gas Arena, Aberdeen

Play-Offs – Thursday May 18
The O2, London


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: