Wayne Jones wins back tour card after Event 19 triumph secures top spot on Unicorn Challenge Tour Order of Merit

Former major finalist Wayne Jones has won back his tour card after securing top spot in this year’s Unicorn Challenge Tour Order of Merit today.

The 2010 European Championship runner-up defeated Stuart Kellett in the final of Event 19 this afternoon, which was enough to ensure he finishes top of the Order of the Merit.

Jones, who lost his tour card at the end of last season, had already won two Challenge Tour titles this year, and followed up Saturday’s run to the Event 17 final by picking up the £2,000 first prize in the first of Sunday’s two tournaments.

The Wolverhampton thrower claimed wins over Bradley Brooks, Rohit Rabadia and Brett Claydon, before being taken to a deciding leg by Paul Harvey, Craig Gilchrist and Gary Stone.

Having come through those tight matches, Jones then won the title with a 5-3 triumph against Kellett, the Cheshire ace who was appearing in his first Challenge Tour final.

Kellett had earlier beaten Rachel Brooks, James Hubbard, Edward Lovely, Event 18 winner Nick Fullwell, Paul Phillips and Peter Hudson in his run to the final, as he picked up £1,000 in prize money.

Unicorn Challenge Tour
Event 19
Stuart Kellett 5-2 Paul Phillips
Peter Hudson 5-4 Martin Lukeman
Gary Stone 5-0 Sam Head
Wayne Jones 5-4 Craig Gilchrist

Stuart Kellett 5-4 Peter Hudson
Wayne Jones 5-4 Gary Stone

Wayne Jones 5-3 Stuart Kellett


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: