Raymond van Barneveld can reach 200 Premier League points with three-point haul in Dublin tonight

By Alex Moss
6 APRIL 2017 • 8:15AM

Raymond van Barneveld can become only the second player in history to reach 200 points in the Premier League when he plays twice in Dublin tonight.

The 2014 Premier League champion is currently on 197 points in the All-Time Points table for the tournament, and can reach the milestone by picking up three points from his games against Phil Taylor and James Wade this evening.

Van Barneveld has been an ever present in the Premier League since joining the PDC in 2006, and has reached the play-offs in eight of his 11 seasons in the competition so far.

The Dutchman has won his last four matches in this year’s event, beating Jelle Klaasen, Gary Anderson, Michael van Gerwen and Wade in consecutive weeks and sits in third place in the current table on 12 points.

Phil Taylor has accrued the most points in Premier League history, with the six-time winner amassing 276 points so far, while van Barneveld’s 197-point haul is the second most in the tournament’s history.

Premier League All-Time Points Table
1. Phil Taylor 276pts
2. Raymond van Barneveld 197pts
3. James Wade 130pts
4. Adrian Lewis 126pts
5. Michael van Gerwen 111pts
6, Gary Anderson 93pts
7. Peter Wright 63pts
= Simon Whitlock 63pts
9. Terry Jenkins 49pts
10. Peter Manley 42pts
11. Dave Chisnall 41pts
12. Colin Lloyd 37pts
13. Robert Thornton 30pts
14. Roland Scholten 28pts
15. John Part 26pts
16. Wayne Mardle 25pts
= Andy Hamilton 25pts
= Mervyn King 25pts
19. Ronnie Baxter 21pts
20. Dennis Priestley 13pts
21. Wes Newton 11pts
= Stephen Bunting 11pts
= Kevin Painter 11pts
24. Jelle Klaasen 9pts
25. Mark Dudbridge 8pts
26. Kim Huybrechts 7pts
27. Mark Webster 5pts
28. Michael Smith 3pts
BOLD = still in this year’s Premier League

Jeff Smith continues climb up the BDO rankings with run to semi-finals in the Virginia Beach Classic

By Alex Moss
31 MARCH 2017 • 4:11PM

Canada’s Jeff Smith continued his push towards the top 32 in the BDO Men’s Rolling Rankings with a run to the semi-finals of the Virginia Beach Classic last weekend.

The former BDO World Championship finalist was the only player from the current top 40 to take part in the tournament over in North America, and picked up 12 ranking points for getting to the last four of the event.

Smith is now up to 38th place in the Men’s Rolling Rankings, and is now just 11 points adrift of Bradley Kirk and Jeffrey Sparidaans, who are tied in 31st spot.

Smith’s ranking points have mostly come from playing in tournaments in North America, with his appearances in the World Championship and World Masters the only events away from his home continent which he has picked up ranking points in.

Reigning BDO world champion Glen Durrant remains top of the pile on 420 points, a healthy 80 points clear of Jamie Hughes in second place.

Dutch Open champion Mark McGeeney, former world champion Scott Mitchell and Welsh ace Dean Reynolds complete the current top five.

BDO Men’s Rolling Rankings (as of March 28, 2017)

Pos  Player Pts
1  Glen Durrant 420
2  Jamie Hughes 340
3  Mark McGeeney 328
4  Scott Mitchell 314
5  Dean Reynolds 299
6  Danny Noppert 267
=  Wesley Harms 267
8  Darryl Fitton 263
9  Scott Waites 257
10  Darius Labanauskas 255
=  Ross Montgomery 255
12  Martin Phillips 244
13  Nick Kenny 241
14  Martin Adams 239
15  Geert de Vos 236
16  Richard Veenstra 209
17  Jim Williams 197
18  Brian Dawson 196
=  Wouter Vaes 196
20  James Hurrell 185
21  Willem Mandigers 180
22  Conan Whitehead 178
23  Andy Fordham 176
24  Kyle McKinstry 159
25  Richie Edwards 158
26  Gary Robson 157
27  Ryan Joyce 156
28  Tony O’Shea 147
29  Martin C Atkins 146
30  Scott Baker 144
31  Bradley Kirk 140
=  Jeffrey Sparidaans 140
33  Andy Baetens 139
=  Shaun Carroll 139
35  David Cameron 136
=  Martin Atkins 136
37  Cameron Menzies 130
38  Jeff Smith 129
39  Pip Blackwell 127
40  Wayne Warren 124

Love The Darts Dozen – Jelle Klaasen drops to the bottom after the German Darts Championship

By Christopher Kempf
31 MARCH 2017 • 1:12PM

The Love The Darts Dozen estimates and compares the length of the average leg over players’ last 180 stage legs.

Michael van Gerwen’s inconsistency in Hildesheim results in a large decline in scoring form (9.55 darts to a finish from 9.36 last week).

A breakthrough victory for Raymond van Barneveld against van Gerwen was accompanied by superior setup play.

Alan Norris can’t keep pace with his 2016 German Darts Championship form, dropping to 3.08 darts at double per leg won.

Jelle Klaasen falls to last place in the LTD12 for the first time, owing to shaky victories in Germany and Premier League relegation.

LTD12 (after German Darts Championship)
1. Michael van Gerwen 15.454 (0.204)
2. Raymond van Barneveld 16.697 (0.130)
3. Phil Taylor 17.116 (0.094)
4. Daryl Gurney 17.128 (n/c)
5. Mensur Suljovic 17.571 (0.269)
6. Benito van de Pas 17.650 (0.207)
7. Simon Whitlock 18.074 (0.070)
8. Alan Norris 18.094 (0.157)
9. Steve Beaton 18.216 (n/c)
10. Mervyn King 18.409 (0.319)
11. Joe Cullen 18.467 (0.261)
12. Jelle Klaasen 18.715 (0.354)