Peter Wright can move up to number two in the world with run to semi-finals in Dublin this week

Peter Wright has the chance to move up to a career-high of number two in the world in Dublin this week.

The world number three begins his Unibet World Grand Prix campaign in the first round against former world champion Stephen Bunting tonight.

Following Gary Anderson’s withdrawal from the tournament yesterday, a run to the semi-finals for Wright this week would see him leapfrog his World Cup partner and into second on the PDC Order of Merit.

Elsewhere, Dave Chisnall’s first-round win against Jelle Klaasen has seen him open up a gap of £8,750 on Mensur Suljovic in sixth spot.

The recent Unibet Champions League of Darts winner is defending £23,500 in prize money this week after reaching the semi-finals in Dublin two years ago, while Chisnall only reached the second round of the 2015 World Grand Prix.

Alan Norris has provisionally moved into the top 16 for the first time following his comeback win over Justin Pipe last night.

The former World Championship finalist battled back from a set down to edge past Pipe in a deciding set, with the victory provisionally moving him above Ian White and into 16th place.

Robert Thornton has began his climb back up the rankings after knocking out Kim Huybrechts in the first round yesterday.

The 2015 World Grand Prix champion is defending £100,000 in prize money this week, and the Scot only got into the tournament this year following Phil Taylor’s decision not to compete.

Thornton, who was 17th in the Order of Merit heading to Dublin, is provisionally down in 24th place, but the Scot can move up another spot were he to defeat Chisnall in the second round tomorrow.

Provisional PDC Order of Merit (Players in green are still in the World Grand Prix) (as of 02/10/2017)

Pos  Player Prize Money
1 Michael van Gerwen £1,632,750
2 Gary Anderson £748,250
3 Peter Wright £738,000
4 Adrian Lewis £403,000
5 Phil Taylor £399,250
6 Dave Chisnall £348,750
7 Mensur Suljovic £340,000
8 Raymond van Barneveld £320,250
9 James Wade £309,250
10 Jelle Klaasen £297,750
11 Michael Smith £294,250
12 Daryl Gurney £287,250
13 Kim Huybrechts £273,500
14 Benito van de Pas £265,250
15 Simon Whitlock £255,250
16 Alan Norris £253,000
17 Ian White £251,000
18 Gerwyn Price £235,250
19 Joe Cullen £210,750
20 Mervyn King £186,000
21 Stephen Bunting £179,500
22 Steve Beaton £172,500
23 Darren Webster £158,750
24 Robert Thornton £158,000

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: