Mensur Suljovic to begin defence of International Darts Open against Dimitri van den Bergh or William O’Connor tomorrow

Mensur Suljovic will start the defence of his HappyBet International Darts Open title against Dimitri van den Bergh or William O’Connor in Riesa tomorrow.

The world number seven, who stormed to his maiden televised title at the Unibet Champions League of Darts on Sunday, is back in Germany this weekend to try and defend his first PDC title he won 12 months ago.

Following last night’s European and Host Nation Qualifiers, the 48-player field for the penultimate European Tour event of the season has been confirmed, with Suljovic to face the winner of today’s first-round tie between van den Bergh and O’Connor in the last 32 on Saturday.

With world number one Michael van Gerwen deciding to skip this weekend, Peter Wright is the top seed in Riesa and will be bidding to win his 10th title of 2017, with German hopeful Dragutin Horvat or Chris Quantock up first for him tomorrow.

Elsewhere in the draw, third seed Simon Whitlock could start his campaign with another meeting with his fellow Aussie Kyle Anderson on Saturday, if the Auckland Darts Masters champion gets past Jerry Hendriks in the first round today.

Gibraltar Darts Trophy winner Michael Smith, the fourth seed, faces either Ron Meulenkamp or Mick McGowan, fifth seed Daryl Gurney goes up against Dennis Nilsson or Steve Beaton, while sixth seed Alan Norris will play Max Hopp or Mark Webster in his first outing of the weekend.

Last year’s beaten finalist in Riesa, Kim Huybrechts, the seventh seed, starts against Justin Pipe or Christian Kist, eighth seed Jelle Klaasen will play either Brendan Dolan or Andy Hamilton, while ninth seed Benito van de Pas has a second-round meeting with Vincent van der Voort or Peter Jacques on Saturday.

2017 HappyBet International Darts Open
First Round Draw
Dragutin Horvat vs. Chris Quantock
Ted Evetts vs. Ronny Huybrechts
Brendan Dolan vs. Andy Hamilton
Vincent van der Voort vs. Peter Jacques
Dennis Nilsson vs. Steve Beaton
Darren Webster vs. Luke Woodhouse
Ron Meulenkamp vs. Mick McGowan
Bernd Roith vs. Josh Payne
Dimitri van den Bergh vs. William O’Connor
Steve Lennon vs. Simon Stevenson
Justin Pipe vs. Christian Kist
Keegan Brown vs. Michael Plooy
Max Hopp vs. Mark Webster
Martin Schindler vs. Richie Corner
Jerry Hendriks vs. Kyle Anderson
John Michael vs. Nandor Bezzeg

Second Round Draw
Peter Wright (1) vs. Horvat/Quantock
Cristo Reyes (16) vs. Evetts/R Huybrechts
Jelle Klaasen (8) vs. Dolan/Hamilton
Benito van de Pas (9) vs. van der Voort/Pipe
Daryl Gurney (5) vs. Nilsson/Beaton
Dave Chisnall (12) vs. D Webster/Woodhouse
Michael Smith (4) vs. Meulenkamp/McGowan
Rob Cross (13) vs. Roith/Payne
Mensur Suljovic (2) vs. van den Bergh/O’Connor
Gerwyn Price (15) vs. Lennon/Stevenson
Kim Huybrechts (7) vs. Pipe/Kist
Ian White (10) vs. Brown/Plooy
Alan Norris (6) vs. Hopp/M Webster
Joe Cullen (11) vs. Schindler/Corner
Simon Whitlock (3) vs. Hendriks/Anderson
Mervyn King (14) vs. Michael/Bezzeg


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: