RACE TO DUBLIN: Four events left before the cut-off for the 20th World Grand Prix

The race to qualify for this year’s World Grand Prix is hotting up, with just four events left before the cut-off on September 11.

The top 16 players from the PDC Order of Merit on September 11 will be joined by the next 16 highest ranked players on the Pro Tour Order of Merit to make up the 32-player line-up for Dublin.

This weekend sees Players Championships 17 and 18 take place in Barnsley, and for some, it will be the last opportunity to earn some prize money towards trying to qualify for the major tournament.

Following this weekend’s Pro Tour double-header there will be two European Tour events held in early September, with the 32-player field for what will be the 20th staging of the World Grand Prix to be confirmed once both have been played.

As there have been no Pro Tour events held since the World Matchplay, the current Pro Tour Order of Merit is identical to the one which came after the cut-off for Blackpool, but the main Order of Merit has seen some changes.

Daryl Gurney has moved into the top 16 for the first time, with Simon Whitlock dropping out, and Alan Norris is on the verge of joining him as he looks to knock out Robert Thornton from 16th spot this weekend.

PDC Order of Merit (Only top 16 qualify) (as of July 31, 2017)

Pos  Player Prize Money
1 Michael van Gerwen £1,660,750
2 Gary Anderson £760,000
3 Peter Wright £715,250
4 Phil Taylor £409,250
5 Adrian Lewis £408,000
6 Dave Chisnall £356,500
7 Mensur Suljovic £346,000
8 Raymond van Barneveld £324,500
9 Michael Smith £312,750
10 James Wade £312,500
11 Jelle Klaasen £312,250
12 Daryl Gurney £279,500
13 Kim Huybrechts £279,250
14 Ian White £272,000
15 Benito van de Pas £265,750
16 Robert Thornton £255,750
17 Alan Norris £251,250
18 Simon Whitlock £250,000
19 Gerwyn Price £226,500
20 Mervyn King £189,000

PDC Pro Tour Order of Merit (Excluding players already in the top 16 of the PDC Order of Merit) (Only top 16 qualify) (as of July 31, 2017)

Pos  Player Prize Money
1 Simon Whitlock £94,000
2 Alan Norris £77,250
3 Joe Cullen £71,250
4 Rob Cross £63,250
5 Mervyn King £61,000
6 Gerwyn Price £58,750
7 Cristo Reyes £57,500
8 Stephen Bunting £47,500
9 Darren Webster £44,750
10 Steve Beaton £43,500
11 James Wilson £42,250
12 Steve West £40,250
13 John Henderson £37,500
14 Kyle Anderson £37,000
15 Christian Kist £36,000
16 Justin Pipe £35,000
17 Chris Dobey £33,750
18 Jonny Clayton £32,750
19 Ronny Huybrechts £31,750
20 Vincent van der Voort £30,750

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: