Champions League of Darts field confirmed with three players set to make their debuts in Cardiff in September

The field for the 2017 Champions League of Darts has been confirmed, with three players set to make their debuts in the BBC-televised event in September.

A change in the qualifying criteria this year saw Phil Taylor, who won the inaugural Champions League of Darts last year, guaranteed a spot in the eight-player line-up.

The remaining seven places would then be handed out to the seven highest ranked players on the PDC Order of Merit following the conclusion of the World Matchplay last Sunday.

World number one Michael van Gerwen, Gary Anderson, Peter Wright and Adrian Lewis were all assured of their spots in the tournament heading into Blackpool, which left just three places up for grabs.

Dave Chisnall, Mensur Suljovic and Raymond van Barneveld came out of the World Matchplay in sixth, seventh and eighth on the Order of Merit respectively, meaning they have all earned their debuts in the Champions League in September.

The three debutants in the event have replaced James Wade, Michael Smith and Robert Thornton from last year’s inaugural line-up.

PDC Order of Merit (as of 31/07/2017)

Position Name Value
1 Michael van Gerwen £1,660,750
2 Gary Anderson £760,000
3 Peter Wright £715,250
4 Phil Taylor £409,250
5 Adrian Lewis £408,000
6 Dave Chisnall £356,500
7 Mensur Suljovic £346,000
8 Raymond van Barneveld £324,500

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: