PDC ORDER OF MERIT: Rob Cross cracks the top 40 after World Matchplay debut win + Simon Whitlock closes back in on top 16

Rob Cross has provisionally moved into the top 40 on the PDC Order of Merit after winning on his World Matchplay debut last night.

Last year’s Challenge Tour Order of Merit winner has enjoyed a remarkable rise through the ranks after joining the main tour this year, winning two Players Championship events and qualifying for Blackpool in his first season.

In the final game of this year’s first round of the World Matchplay, Cross saw off 13th seed Ian White 10-7, to set up a clash with two-time world champion Adrian Lewis in the second round tomorrow night.

Yesterday’s win has moved Cross up to 40th in the provisional Order of Merit on £80,750, and it would take a run to the final this week to push him into the top 32.

Elsewhere, Simon Whitlock moved to within one more win in Blackpool this week of getting back into the top 16.

Whitlock, the 16th seed in this year’s World Matchplay but 17th on the current Order of Merit, knocked out fellow Australian Kyle Anderson 10-5 in the first round last night.

With Robert Thornton, provisionally in 16th, losing out to Cristo Reyes in his first game on Sunday, it means that Whitlock will provisionally move back into the top 16 if he beats world number one Michael van Gerwen when the two meet in the second round tomorrow night.

Provisional PDC Order of Merit (Players in green are still in the World Matchplay) (as of 24/07/2017)

Pos  Player Prize Money
1 Michael van Gerwen  £1,654,250
2 Gary Anderson  £760,000
3 Peter Wright  £671,250
4 Adrian Lewis  £389,000
5 Dave Chisnall  £356,500
6 Mensur Suljovic £339,500
7 Raymond van Barneveld £324,500
8 Michael Smith £312,750
9 James Wade £312,500
10 Jelle Klaasen £312,250
11 Phil Taylor £305,250
12 Kim Huybrechts £279,250
13 Ian White £272,000
14 Benito van de Pas £265,750
15 Daryl Gurney £260,500
16 Robert Thornton £255,750
17 Simon Whitlock £250,000
18 Alan Norris £244,750
19 Gerwyn Price £226,500
20 Mervyn King £189,000
21 Joe Cullen £187,750
22 Stephen Bunting £175,250
23 Mark Webster £164,000
24 Steve Beaton £157,250
25 Terry Jenkins £156,250
26 Cristo Reyes £144,500
27 Darren Webster £143,500
28 Vincent van der Voort £135,500
29 Justin Pipe £134,500
30 Kyle Anderson £130,250
31 Brendan Dolan £125,500
32 John Henderson £108,750
33 James Wilson £106,250
34 Jamie Caven £100,750
35 Steve West £99,750
36 Christian Kist £99,250
37 Jamie Lewis £93,000
38 Chris Dobey £92,750
= Robbie Green £92,750
40 Rob Cross £80,750

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: