RACE TO HASSELT: Peter Wright climbs back into top spot, while run to final pushes Mervyn King into top eight

Peter Wright returned to the top of the European Tour Order of Merit after winning the HappyBet European Darts Open in Leverkusen last night.

The world number three was overtaken at the top by Michael van Gerwen following the Dutchman’s victory in Vienna the previous weekend.

But after van Gerwen was knocked out by emerging star Rob Cross in the third round yesterday afternoon, Wright then went all the way, beating Mervyn King 6-2 in the final, to move back to the top.

The European Darts Open was the eighth of 12 events on this year’s European Tour, with its own Order of Merit being used to determine the 32 players who will qualify for the Unibet European Championship later this year.

The top 32 players on the European Tour Order of Merit following the completion of the 12th event will qualify for Hasselt, with the top eight being seeded for the event.

King’s run to his first European Tour final in almost three years has seen him climb into a provisional seeding position, while John Henderson and Cross have strengthened their positions with runs to the quarter-finals at the weekend.

James Wade and James Richardson have both moved into the top 32, at the expense of Chris Dobey and Jamie Bain, who both failed to qualify for Leverkusen. Wade lost out to Dave Chisnall in the second round, while Richardson went one better as he got to the final day before bowing out to Michael Smith in the last 16.

European Tour Order of Merit (Only top 32 qualify for the Unibet European Championship) (as of July 3, 2017)

Pos  Player Prize Money
1 Peter Wright £113,000
2 Michael van Gerwen £102,000
3 Michael Smith £51,000
4 Mensur Suljovic £43,000
5 Jelle Klaasen £31,000
6 Mervyn King £25,000
= Cristo Reyes £25,000
8 Benito van de Pas £24,000
9 Joe Cullen £23,000
= Dave Chisnall £23,000
11 Daryl Gurney £21,000
12 Stephen Bunting £20,000
= Gerwyn Price £20,000
14 Rob Cross £18,000
15 Ian White £16,000
16 Simon Whitlock £15,000
17 Dimitri van den Bergh £14,000
18 John Henderson £13,000
= Krzysztof Ratajski £13,000
= Kim Huybrechts £13,000
21 Alan Norris £12,000
22 Christian Kist £11,000
23 Martin Schindler £10,000
24 Vincent van der Voort £9,000
= James Richardson £9,000
26 James Wilson £8,000
= Jonny Clayton £8,000
= Kyle Anderson £8,000
= James Wade £8,000
30 Darren Johnson £7,000
= Dirk van Duijvenbode £7,000
= Jan Dekker £7,000
33 Justin Pipe £6,000
= Chris Quantock £6,000
= Chris Dobey £6,000
= Zoran Lerchbacher £6,000
= Ronny Huybrechts £6,000
= Jamie Bain £6,000
= Mark Webster £6,000

Other notable players: Gary Anderson (£0), Adrian Lewis (£5,000), Phil Taylor (£0), Raymond van Barneveld (£4,000), Robert Thornton (£3,000), Terry Jenkins (£0), Steve Beaton (£3,000), Brendan Dolan (£1,000), Darren Webster (£5,000)

Picture: PDC Europe


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: