Peter Machin edges past Martin Phillips to win World Trophy and become first Australian BDO major winner since 2002

By Alex Moss
30 MAY 2017 • 9:24PM

Peter Machin became the first Australian to win a BDO major in 15 years after beating Martin Phillips 10-8 to win the World Trophy yesterday.

The Australian, who lost out to Darryl Fitton in the final of last year’s event, went one step further this year as he battled back from 5-2 down in the final to scoop the £8,000 first prize.

Machin fired in three big checkouts of 150, 149 and 141 on his way to winning the final and the title, becoming the first player from Australia to win a BDO major since his compatriot Tony David’s victory in the Zuiderduin Masters back in 2002.

“This is beyond my wildest dreams to be able to win this event,” Machin said.

“I only knew four weeks ago I was going to come across to it, and my wife was unsure if she was going to come with me.

“I just wanted to give her the experience. I’ve been playing in Australia for the last seven years and I got the opportunity to come here last year, and I just wanted to give her a taste of what I’ve been able to do.

“To come here today with her by my side and win this title, it’s beyond my wildest dreams.”

As well as the £8,000 first prize, Machin returns to Australia with an extra £1,000 in his pocket after hitting the tournament’s highest checkout, a 170, during his 7-4 win against Martin Adams in the quarter-finals.

Machin then fought back from 4-0 down to squeeze past Glen Durrant’s conqueror Wesley Harms 8-6 in the semi-finals, while Phillips enjoyed wins over Conan Whitehead and Nick Kenny on the final day to reach his first World Trophy final.

In the ladies event, Aileen de Graaf clinched her first World Trophy title after beating former champion Anastasia Dobromyslova 6-2 in the final.

De Graaf had beaten Anca Zijlstra 5-2 in an all-Dutch clash in the semi-finals, while Dobromyslova edged past ladies world number one Deta Hedman 5-4 in the other semi-final.

2017 BDO World Trophy
Men’s Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals and Final and Ladies’ Semi-Finals and Final
Monday May 29 (1-8.30pm)
Nick Kenny (14) 7-2 Ross Montgomery (11)
Conan Whitehead 6-7 Martin Phillips (15)
Glen Durrant (1) 4-7 Wesley Harms (8)
Martin Adams (12) 4-7 Peter Machin
Aileen de Graaf (3) 5-2 Anca Zijlstra
Deta Hedman (1) 4-5 Anastasia Dobromyslova (4)
Men’s Semi-Finals
Nick Kenny (14) 5-8 Martin Phillips (15)
Wesley Harms (8) 6-8 Peter Machin
Ladies Final
Anastasia Dobromyslova (4) 2-6 Aileen de Graaf (3)
Men’s Final
Martin Phillips (15) 8-10 Peter Machin

Picture: David Gill


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: