New-look England team to begin World Cup defence against Gibraltar on June 2

By Alex Moss
23 MAY 2017 • 9:09PM

The new-look England team of Adrian Lewis and Dave Chisnall will start the defence of the Betway World Cup of Darts title against Gibraltar on June 2.

The seventh staging of the annual pairs event takes place in Frankfurt next week, with defending champions England among 32 nations competing in the £300,000 tournament.

The English pairing of Lewis and Phil Taylor have won four of the last five World Cup titles, but this year it will be Chisnall partnering Lewis when they begin their bid for a fifth triumph against Gibraltar pair Dyson Parody and Dylan Duo in the first round.

Top seeds Scotland, who are boosted by the return of world number three Peter Wright to the team this year, face Singapore on the opening night of the tournament on June 1, while two-time winners Netherlands have been drawn to face the Czech Republic.

Fourth seeds Wales drew Finland, while number five seeds Australia take on Denmark in their opening clash, and former finalists Belgium go up against New Zealand in their first round tie.

The opening night on June 1 will see eight first round games take place, including a clash between Japan and Spain, Thailand facing Greece, Hong Kong up against Russia and the Republic of Ireland taking on Poland.

Alongside England and the Netherlands, host nation Germany enter the tournament on June 2 as they play sixth seeds Northern Ireland, while Austria face off against China.

World Cup debutants Brazil and Switzerland were drawn together in another first round tie, while South Africa will play Sweden, Hungary play Canada and the USA take on Italy.

The four-day tournament then continues with the second round split across two sessions on June 3, with Sunday’s play on June 4 featuring the quarter-finals in the afternoon and the semi-finals and final in the evening.

Betway World Cup of Darts
First Round Draw & Tournament Bracket
(1) Scotland v Singapore
Japan v Spain
(8) Belgium v New Zealand
Thailand v Greece
(5) Australia v Denmark
Hong Kong v Russia
(4) v Wales v Finland
Republic of Ireland v Poland
(2) England v Gibraltar
South Africa v Sweden
(7) Austria v China
Hungary v Canada
(6) Northern Ireland v Germany
Brazil v Switzerland
(3) Netherlands v Czech Republic
United States of America v Italy

Schedule of Play
Thursday June 1 (8pm local time, 7pm BST)
First Round
Thailand v Greece
Hong Kong v Russia
Republic of Ireland v Poland
Japan v Spain
Belgium v New Zealand
Australia v Denmark
Scotland v Singapore
Wales v Finland

Friday June 2 (8pm local time, 7pm BST)
First Round
United States of America v Italy
Hungary v Canada
Austria v China
South Africa v Sweden
Brazil v Switzerland
Northern Ireland v Germany
England v Gibraltar
Netherlands v Czech Republic

Saturday June 3
Second Round
Afternoon Session (2pm local time, 1pm BST)
Belgium/New Zealand v Thailand/Greece
Wales/Finland v Republic of Ireland/Poland
Australia/Denmark v Hong Kong/Russia
Scotland/Singapore v Japan/Spain

Evening Session (8pm local time, 7pm BST)
Austria/China v Hungary/Canada
Northern Ireland/Germany v Brazil/Switzerland
England/Gibraltar v South Africa/Sweden
Netherlands/Czech Republic v United States of America/Italy

Sunday June 4
Afternoon Session (2pm local time, 1pm BST)

Evening Session (8pm local time, 7pm BST)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: