RACE TO THE MATCHPLAY: Jonny Clayton moves into provisional Blackpool spot after two runs to quarter-finals

By Alex Moss
22 MAY 2017 • 10:36PM

Jonny Clayton put himself in a provisional spot for the World Matchplay after a successful few days on the PDC Pro Tour at the weekend

The Welshman, who made his debut in the PDC World Championship last December, is in contention to secure a place in July’s World Matchplay for the first time.

Clayton enjoyed runs to the quarter-finals of both the Players Championship events held in Milton Keynes at the weekend, with his results pushing him into a provisional qualifying spot for the major tournament.

The qualifying criteria for the World Matchplay is set at the top 16 on the PDC Order of Merit and then the next 16 highest ranked players on the Pro Tour Order of Merit.

With just three European Tour events and four Players Championship events before the cut off, there is still plenty of time for the chasing pack to hoist themselves into a qualifying spot for the Blackpool tournament.

Darren Webster currently occupies the 16th and final spot up for grabs via the Pro Tour Order of Merit, but the Norwich thrower is only ahead of Chris Dobey on count back.

Robbie Green, Justin Pipe and John Henderson are all within £2,000 of Webster with seven events to go, while Terry Jenkins, a two-time finalist at the World Matchplay, looks set to miss out on a visit to the Winter Gardens for the first time since 2005.

The 53-year-old has not took part in any PDC ranking event since the UK Open in March, but is still only £3,250 adrift of Webster.

PDC Order of Merit (Only top 16 qualify) (as of May 21, 2017)

Pos  Player Prize Money
1 Michael van Gerwen £1,722,250
2 Gary Anderson £743,000
3 Peter Wright £674,250
4 Adrian Lewis £391,500
5 Dave Chisnall £372,250
6 James Wade £370,500
7 Mensur Suljovic £333,500
8 Jelle Klaasen £330,500
9 Phil Taylor £327,250
10 Michael Smith £321,250
11 Raymond van Barneveld £319,500
12 Kim Huybrechts £295,250
13 Ian White £291,250
14 Benito van de Pas £275,500
15 Robert Thornton £274,750
16 Simon Whitlock £255,250
17 Gerwyn Price £236,250
18 Alan Norris £233,000
19 Daryl Gurney £231,500
20 Mervyn King £178,500

PDC Pro Tour Order of Merit (Excluding players already in the top 16 of the PDC Order of Merit) (Only top 16 qualify) (as of May 21, 2017)

Pos  Player Prize Money
1 Alan Norris £72,500
2 Daryl Gurney £64,500
3 Gerwyn Price £58,500
4 Joe Cullen £52,750
5 Stephen Bunting £49,000
6 Rob Cross £48,750
7 Cristo Reyes £48,500
8 Mervyn King £44,500
9 Steve West £43,250
10 James Wilson £39,250
11 Steve Beaton £39,000
12 Kyle Anderson £38,750
13 Christian Kist £33,000
14 Ronny Huybrechts £31,000
15 Jonny Clayton £30,000
16 Darren Webster £29,250
= Chris Dobey £29,250
18 Robbie Green £28,500
19 Justin Pipe £27,500
20 John Henderson £27,250

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: