Lakeside World Professional Darts Championship Schedule

By Darts Weekly Staff
15 DECEMBER 2016 • 1:30PM 

The schedule of play for the Lakeside World Professional Darts Championship has been announced ahead of the BDO’s biggest tournament, which will be held from January 7-15 at the Lakeside Country Club.

A 40-player field will be in action in the men’s tournament, while 16 ladies will be competing to be crowned ladies world champion.

Top seed Glen Durrant will be in action on the opening day on Saturday January 7, with the preliminary and first rounds spanning four days.

The second round takes place across two days on January 11-12, with the quarter-finals on the 13th, the semi-finals on the 14th and the final on the 15th.

Alongside Durrant’s clash with Welsh debutant Nick Kenny on January 7, World Trophy champion Darryl Fitton will take on Wouter Vaes and Jim Williams faces three-time runner-up Tony O’Shea.

The event’s second day on Sunday January 8 will see three-time world champion Martin Adams take to the stage against either Dennis Nilsson or Ryan Joyce, who meet in the preliminary round, alongside the all-English clash between Jamie Hughes and Martin Atkins and the meeting of 2015 winner Scott Mitchell and either Roger Janssen or Mark McGrath.

Day three will see Welsh duo Dean Reynolds and Martin Phillips both in action in the afternoon, with Geert de Vos and Brian Dawson then taking on winners from the preliminary round in the evening.

The men’s first round concludes on Tuesday January 10, with reigning world champion Scott Waites facing either Craig Caldwell or Dennis Harbour in the final last 32 tie.

2017 Lakeside World Professional Darts Championship
Schedule of Play – (P) denotes Preliminary Round
Preliminary Round & First Round
Saturday January 7
Afternoon Session (1pm)
Glen Durrant (1) v Nick Kenny
Trina Gulliver (6) v Claire Brookin
Dennis Nilsson v Ryan Joyce (P)
Darryl Fitton (10) v Wouter Vaes

Evening Session (7pm)
Seigo Asada v Jeff Smith (P)
Roger Janssen v Mark McGrath (P)
Aileen de Graaf (3) v Rachel Brooks
Jim Williams (13) v Tony O’Shea

Sunday January 8
Afternoon Session (1pm)
Martin Adams (5) v Nilsson/Joyce
Tom Sawyer v Paul Hogan (P)
Lisa Ashton (2) v Sharon Prins
Scott Mitchell (2) v Janssen/McGrath

Evening Session (7pm)
Krzysztof Ratajski v Willem Mandigers (P)
Fallon Sherrock (7) v Olive Byamukama
Raymond Smith v Davy van Baelen (P)
Jamie Hughes (4) v Martin Atkins

Monday January 9
Afternoon Session (1pm)
David Cameron v Jimmy Hendriks (P)
Craig Caldwell v Dennis Harbour (P)
Dean Reynolds (7) v Pip Blackwell

Evening Session (7pm)
Martin Phillips (16) v Sawyer/Hogan
Lorraine Winstanley (5) v Anca Zijlstra
Geert de Vos (15) v R Smith/van Baelen
Brian Dawson (12) v Asada/J Smith

Tuesday January 10
Afternoon Session (1pm)
Danny Noppert (3) v Cameron/Hendriks
Richard Veenstra (14) v Ross Montgomery
Deta Hedman (1) v Casey Gallagher
Wesley Harms (9) v Ratajski/Mandigers

Evening Session (7pm)
Mark McGeeney (11) v James Hurrell
Anastasia Dobromyslova (4) v Rhian Griffiths
Darius Labanauskas (8) v Conan Whitehead
Scott Waites (6) v Caldwell/Harbour

Wednesday January 11
Afternoon Session
Men’s Second Round
Corrine Hammond (8) v Patricia Farrell (2.15pm)

Thursday January 12
Afternoon Session (12.30pm)
Nathan Girvan v Justin van Tergouw (World Youth Final)
Men’s Second Round
Ladies Quarter-Finals

Friday January 13
Men’s Quarter-Finals
Ladies Semi-Finals

Saturday January 14
Men’s Semi-Finals
Ladies Final

Sunday January 15
Men’s Final


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: