Glen Durrant to begin Winmau World Masters defence against Malta’s Norbert Attard tomorrow

By Alex Moss
1 DECEMBER 2016 • 8:08PM 

Glen Durrant will start the defence of his Winmau World Masters title against Malta’s Norbert Attard at Lakeside tomorrow.

The BDO number one will kick off the televised coverage of this year’s World Masters when he takes on Attard in the last 32 of the men’s event tomorrow at noon.

The 43rd staging of the BDO major takes place at the famous Lakeside Country Club, in Frimley Green, with the top 16 seeds joined by the 16 qualifiers from today’s action.

Reigning world champion Scott Waites, a winner of the World Masters himself back in 2011, starts his campaign against David Copley, while three-time winner Martin Adams faces Ireland’s John O’Shea.

The fourth former champion left in the draw, Martin Phillips, takes on Dutchman Davy van Baelen, while BDO World Trophy holder Darryl Fitton begins his bid for a first World Masters title against England international Dave Parletti.

2015 world champion Scott Mitchell will play Sweden’s Oskar Alukasiak, Dutch rising star Danny Noppert takes on Canada’s Kiley Edmunds, and recent Grand Slam of Darts debutant Jamie Hughes goes up against BDO stalwart Gary Robson.

PDC Development Tour Order of Merit winner Dean Reynolds faces Northern Ireland’s Neil Duff, Lakeside runner-up Jeff Smith takes on Brian Dawson, and Lithuanian ace Darius Labanauskas will play Welshman Steve Alker.

Mark McGeeney and James Hurrell face off in an all-English tie, while former World Championship semi-finalists Wesley Harms and Richard Veenstra take on Australia’s Raymond Smith and Scotland’s Alan Soutar respectively.

Belgium’s Geert de Vos goes up against Michael Meaney, of Ireland, and Welshman Jim Williams will play Germany’s Robert Allenstein.

Winmau World Masters
Men’s Draw
Last 32
Glen Durrant v Norbert Attard
Martin Phillips v Davy van Baelen
Wesley Harms v Raymond Smith
Darius Labanauskas v Steve Alker
Martin Adams v John O’Shea
Brian Dawson v Jeff Smith
Jim Williams v Robert Allenstein
Jamie Hughes v Gary Robson
Danny Noppert v Kiley Edmunds
Richard Veenstra v Alan Soutar
Mark McGeeney v James Hurrell
Scott Waites v David Copley
Dean Reynolds v Neil Duff
Darryl Fitton v Dave Parletti
Geert de Vos v Michael Meaney
Scott Mitchell v Oskar Alukasiak


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: