Former World Championship finalists Painter and Hamilton head list of entries for PDPA Qualifier

Andy Hamilton is among 121 players entered for the William Hill World Darts Championship PDPA Qualifier on Monday CREDIT: LAWRENCE LUSTIG/PDC

By Alex Moss
24 NOVEMBER 2016 • 12:51PM

Former World Championship finalists Andy Hamilton and Kevin Painter head the list of entries for Monday’s William Hill World Darts Championship PDPA Qualifier.

Hamilton has been an ever present in the PDC’s World Championship since joining the tour in 2004, but is currently set to miss out on a place at the Alexandra Palace next month.

The world number 40 would need a run to the final at the Cash Converters Players Championship Finals this weekend to stand a chance of climbing back into the top 32, otherwise he will be among 121 players competing in Monday’s PDPA Qualifier.

Painter has played in the last 15 PDC World Championships since switching over from the BDO in 2001, but is also set to miss out on this year’s tournament, which has an increased prize fund of £1,650,000.

Andrew Gilding, currently 32nd on the PDC Order of Merit, is the highest ranked player to have entered the qualifer. But barring a surprise winner or finalist at Minehead this weekend he should not need to go to the PDPA Qualifier next week.

Gilding will need to reach the last 16 at least this weekend to have a chance of staying in the top 32, but even if he drops out he occupies the last qualifying place on the Pro Tour Order of Merit.

Former Players Championship Finals winner Paul Nicholson is also in the field for Monday’s qualifier in Wigan, and will be joined by former major finalists Ronnie Baxter, Wayne Jones and Wes Newton.

The winner of the qualifier will go straight into the first round of the World Championship, while the runner-up qualifies for the preliminary round.

William Hill World Darts Championship PDPA Qualifier
Nathan Aspinall
Richard Baillie
Jamie Bain
Mark Barilli
Michael Barnard
Barrie Bates
Jeff Batham
Ronnie Baxter
Michael Blake
Nigel Boeg
Andy Boulton
John Bowles
Darren Brown
Darron Brown
Keegan Brown
Matt Clark
Brett Claydon
Jonny Clayton
Richie Corner
Terry Creed
Scott Dale
Nigel Daniels
Matt Dennant
Nathan Derry
Eddie Dootson
Kevin Dowling
Matt Edgar
Ritchie Edhouse
David Evans
Ricky Evans
Steve Evans
Ted Evetts
Jay Foreman
Mark Forman
Colin Fowler
Mark Frost
Nick Fullwell
Kevin Garcia
Andrew Gilding
Johnny Haines
Andy Hamilton
Curtis Hammond
Ryan Harrington
Kelvin Hart
Sam Head
Fabian Herz
Nigel Heydon
Steve Hine
Billy Holmes
James Hubbard
Peter Hudson
Adam Hunt
Mark Hylton
Garath Illidge
Andy Jenkins
Prakash Jiwa
Darren Johnson
Sean Johnson
Wayne Jones
Stuart Kellett
Dave Ladley
Kevin Lane
Mark Lawrence
Ian Lever
Callum Loose
Jason Lovett
Jason Marriott
Darren Mawer
Stephen McNally
Yordi Meeuwisse
Ryan Meikle
Paul Milford
Lee Moffat
Arron Monk
Ian Moss
Coni Singh Nagi
Tony Newell
Wes Newton
Paul Nicholson
Robert Owen
Kevin Painter
Joey Palfreyman
Lee Palfreyman
David Pallett
Ryan Palmer
Kurt Parry
Michael Power
Simon Preston
Chris Quantock
James Richardson
Josh Richardson
Harry Robinson
Jamie Robinson
Roger Scrivens
Kirk Shepherd
Lee Shewan
Kevin Simm
Andy Smith
Dennis Smith
Ross Smith
Simon Stevenson
Gary Stone
Stuart Stubbs
Alan Tabern
Scott Taylor
Terry Temple
Martin Thomas
Jack Todd
Mick Todd
Martyn Turner
Dirk van Duijvenbode
Jim Walker
Mark Walsh
Alan Wilkinson
Ricky Williams
Jason Wilson
Ian Withers
Luke Woodhouse
Brian Woods
Jonathon Worsley
James Young


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: