WORLD TROPHY DRAW: Top seed Durrant to face Fordham in pick of first round ties at Lakeside


Number one seed Glen Durrant takes on former world champion Andy Fordham in the pick of the first round ties at this year’s BDO World Trophy.

The draw took place during the BDO Delegates Meeting in Walsall yesterday, and paired up Duzza with the 2004 BDO world champion in the last 32.

Belgium’s Geert de Vos begins the defence of the title he won last year against fellow countryman Roger Janssen, while second seed Martin Adams starts his campaign against Latvia’s Madars Razma.

Reigning Lakeside champion Scott Waites faces Krzysztof Ratajski of Poland, with the man he beat in that final earlier this year, Jeff Smith, taking on 12th seed Mark McGeeney.

This year’s beaten Lakeside semi-finalists Jamie Hughes and Richard Veenstra take on Ryan Joyce and Tony O’Shea respectively, while 2014 World Trophy runner-up and qualifier Ross Montgomery has been drawn against former world champion Scott Mitchell.

Fellow qualifier Barry Lynn goes up against recent Denmark Open champion Darius Labanauskas, while this year’s Scottish Open and German Open winner Danny Noppert faces Japan’s Seigo Asada.

In the women’s draw, top seed Lisa Ashton begins the defence of her title against Casey Gallagher, while reigning Lakeside champion Trina Gulliver faces Paula Jacklin.

Last year’s World Trophy runner-up and 2014 winner Anastasia Dobromyslova  goes up against Sharon Prins, with second seed Deta Hedman drawn to play Denmark’s Ann Louise Peters.

Qualifiers Laura Turner and Rhian Griffiths face fourth seed Aileen de Graaf and third seed Fallon Sherrock respectively.

2016 BDO World Trophy Draw (28-30 May)

Men’s Last 32
(1) Glen Durrant v Andy Fordham
(16) Darius Labanauskas v Barry Lynn
(9) Martin Phillips v Ted Hankey
(8) Darryl Fitton v Craig Caldwell
(5) Wesley Harms v Nick Kenny
(12) Mark McGeeney v Jeff Smith
(13) Geert de Vos v Roger Janssen
(4) Jamie Hughes v Ryan Joyce
(3) Scott Waites v Krzystof Ratajski
(14) Brian Dawson v Jim Widmayer
(11) Richard Veenstra v Tony O’Shea
(6) Jim Williams v Peter Machin
(7) Scott Mitchell v Ross Montgomery
(10) Danny Noppert v Seigo Asada
(15) Dean Reynolds v David Cameron
(2) Martin Adams v Madars Razma

Women’s Last 16
(1) Lisa Ashton v Casey Gallagher
(8) Corrine Hammond v Anca Zijlstra
(5) Anastasia Dobromyslova v Sharon Prins
(4) Aileen de Graaf v Laura Turner
(3) Fallon Sherrock v Rhian Griffiths
(6) Lorraine Winstanley v Zoe Jones
(7) Trina Gulliver v Paula Jacklin
(2) Deta Hedman v Ann Louise Peters


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: